

P.O. Box 790, 509 E. Carthage, Meade, KS 67864 620-873-2184 or 800-794-2353 www.cmselectric.com

CMS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

ightener

CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Board of Trustees

Ron Oliver

Michael Johnson

Linda Tomlinson Secretary-Treasure

Wes McKinney

Joe Murphy

Don Nighswonger

Rock Ormiston II

Keith Randall

R. Garv Warden

Lightbulb Winners

Congratulations to this month's lightbulb winners:

- Kent Dunn
- Stephen Eisnehauer
- Laural Ediger
- Jason Evans
- Leanna Heath Winter Jackson

Contact us today for your free lightbulbs!



This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

75th Annual Meeting Highlights



Kansas Electric Power Cooperative Inc. (KEPCo) Executive Vice President/CEO Suzanne Lane addresses the consumer-members of CMS in attendance at the annual meeting on May 13, 2021.

The 75th Annual Meeting of CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc., was held on May 13 in Meade, Kansas. The members and guests attending the meeting enjoyed a delicious meal prepared by John Ross of Garden City, with approximately 240 people served.

CMS Board President Ron Oliver welcomed members and guests to the 75th annual meeting. He introduced the board of trustees, General Manager Kirk Thompson, and Corporate Attorney Tim Larson. Also in attendance were former trustees Clifford Friesen and Jeff Headrick as well as former office manager Nelda Carlisle. Other guests

INDEPENDENCE DAY Our office will be closed on Monday, July 5, for the holiday.

were Lee Tafanelli from Kansas Electric Cooperatives Inc. (KEC) and Suzanne Lane from Kansas Electric Power Cooperative (KEPCo).

Kirk Thompson, general manager, introduced the scholarship winners Charlee Cochran, Sarah Headrick, Tori Carpenter, Chylynn Gibson, Carley Norton and Katie Welsh. Mr. Thompson then presented each recipient in attendance with a certificate and gift recognizing their achievement. Not in attendance were Colby Louderback and Brayleigh McGinley.

Mr. Thompson reviewed the financial reports as printed in the annual report and presented the manager's report. Thompson updated the members on the following:

- ► COVID-19 Effects at CMS
- ► February 2021 Winter Storm Uri
- ► FEMA Update
- ► Solar Array Installation in Comanche County
- Substation Move

Continued on page 16C▶

2021 CMS Scholarship Recipients

District 1



CHARLEE COCHRAN, Liberal, graduated from Southwestern Heights High School. She is the daughter of Leonard and Brandee Cochran. Charlee plans to attend Hutchinson Community College to study animal science.



District 2

KATIE WELSH, Meade, graduated from Meade High School. She is the daughter of Matthew and Beth Welsh. Katie plans to attend West Texas A&M to study veterinary medicine.



SARAH HEADRICK, Kismet, graduated from Southwestern Heights High School. She is the daughter of Jeff and Liz Headrick. Sarah plans to attend Kansas State University to study kinesiology.



TORY CARPENTER, Meade, graduated from Kansas Connections Academy. She is the daughter of Jim and Debra Carpenter. Tory plans to attend Fort Hays State University to study animal science.



COLBY LOUDERBACK, Liberal, graduated from Southwestern Heights High School. He is the son of Clay and Robin Louderback. Colby plans to attend Kansas State University to study architecture.



CHYLYNN GIBSON, Ashland, graduated from Ashland High School. She is the daughter of the late Jeffrey Gibson and Janae Wilson. Chylynn plans to attend Fort Hays State University to study agricultural business.



BRAYLEIGH MCGINLEY, Kismet, graduated from Manhattan Virtual Academy. She is the daughter of the late Mike McGinley and Becky Bird. Brayleigh plans to attend Clarendon College to study agricultural business.



CARLEY NORTON, Minneola, graduated from Minneola High School. She is the daughter of William and Tiffany Norton. Carley plans to attend Fort Hays State University to study communications.

75th Annual Meeting Highlights

Continued from page 16B ▶

Mr. Thompson thanked CMS employees and announced Roger Davis, engineering manager, had retired after 47 years with CMS Electric.

Trustees re-elected were: ROCK ORMISTON II for District 1, JAMES "WES" MCKINNEY for District 2, and DON **NIGHSWONGER** for District 3. Following the business meeting there were drawings for many door prizes including the grand prize of a pellet grill, won by John Smith of Yucca Ridge Golf Course. The winner of the Kindle Fire children's drawing was Zadie Grisanti. Many other great prizes were awarded including energy certificates for up to \$100 off the winner's CMS electric bill.



2021 CMS scholarship recipients pose with CMS Manager Kirk Thompson at the annual meeting. From left: Thompson, Charlee Cochran, Sarah Headrick, Tory Carpenter, Katie Welsh, Chylynn Gibson and Carley Norton.