

P.O. Box 790, 509 E. Carthage, Meade, KS 67864 620-873-2184 or 800-794-2353 www.cmselectric.com

CMS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

Trustee Positions Open for Election

CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Board of Trustees

Ron Oliver President

Michael Johnson

Linda Tomlinson Secretary-Treasurer

Wes McKinney Trustee

Joe Murphy

Don Nighswonger

Rock Ormiston II

Keith Randall

R. Gary Warden

Lightbulb Winners

Congratulations to this month's lightbulb winners:

- Susan Aguirre
- ► Ben Amerin
- ► Rita Bergkamp
- ► Michael Brosius Doris Cobb
- Contact us today for your free lightbulbs!

Nondiscrimination

This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

The Board of Trustees of the CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. announces the following trustee's terms will expire in 2020 and their positions are open for election.

- **▶** District 1, Position C **GARY WARDEN**
- ▶ District 2, Position C **LINDA TOMLINSON**
- ▶ District 3, Position C **KEITH RANDALL**

The Board also announces that members wishing to serve on the Board of Trustees shall be nominated by presenting a petition to the cooperative office with the signatures of fifteen valid members within the district they are to represent.

Blank petitions are available at the cooperative office in Meade, or call and one will be mailed to you. Petitions are due by March 17. If you are need additional information, please call CMS at 800-794-2353.

CMS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ANNUAL MEETING

Meade High School, Meade Thursday, April 16 | Meal at 5:30 p.m., Meeting at 6:30 p.m.

(If there are any changes in your mailing address please contact us so you may receive your official notice to be mailed in March.)

CMS Electric Donates to Local Food Banks

CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. and their members came together and collected donations for the **MEADE COUNTY FOOD** BANK and the TOWN OF PROTECTION FOOD BANK. CMS Electric additionally pledged \$200 to each food bank. Thank you to all of the members who donated to each of the food banks.



Blaise Saucedo (left), CMS material clerk, gives Pastor Kent Peck donations collected for Meade County



Michael Bushnell (right), Coldwater district manager, presents Town of Protection Food Bank Coordinator Candy Murphy with recent donations.

Apply by Feb. 10 for a \$1,000 CMS Scholarship

CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. awards six \$1,000 scholarships annually to eligible applicants. Apply by Feb. 10, 2020.

Purpose

To support development of effective leaders through educational opportunities.

Objective

To provide financial assistance for six high school graduates — based upon scholastic and extracurricular achievements — to continue their education.

Scholarship Eligibility

Current high school seniors whose parents/guardians are members of CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. are eligible to apply for these scholarships.

Each applicant must intend to enroll as a full-time student in an accredited university or college, including junior, community, vocational or technical college. All applicants for the CMS Electric scholarships shall be considered based upon scholastic and extracurricular achievements without regard to race, age, color, religion, gender, national origin or existence of physical handicap.

Scholarship Criteria

Scholarship merit is based on three

categories: scholastic achievement, extracurricular school activities and community activities.

How to Apply

Interested applicants may contact the CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. office or a CMS Board Trustee from within the district in which they reside to obtain an application form or print an application form from the CMS website, www.cmselectric.com. Completed applications must be postmarked and/ or returned to CMS Electric Cooperative. Inc. by Feb. 10, 2020. Mail applications to: Scholarship Committee, CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc., P.O. Box 790, Meade, KS 67864. Questions about the scholarship program should be directed to CMS General Manager Kirk A. Thompson at 620-873-2184 or 800-794-2353.

Selection Procedure

Selections are made by CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc.'s Scholarship Committee. Applicants must be willing to be interviewed by the committee if necessary. Decisions made by this committee shall be final. Runners-up will be selected in the event the recipient forfeits rights to the scholarship.

Payment of Scholarships

The scholarship recipients shall provide

proof of college enrollment satisfactory to CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc.

The cooperative will then pay the institution. Should the recipient withdraw from college, payment of scholarship monies shall cease and reimbursement of unused monies shall be made to CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Conditions

In the event the scholarship recipient receives financial assistance from other sources, which would constitute a full scholarship, the recipient shall notify CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. and relinquish rights to the scholarship. The money shall then be awarded to the runner-up, provided that individual continues to meet all criteria.

Willie Wiredhand **Ornament Winners**

This year's Willie Wiredhand Commemorative Holiday Ornament winners are: MIKE CLINE, TERRY SHINOGLE, ROD **BROWN, SHERMAN OVERBAY** and **SHARON SUE STOCKTON.** The ornaments have been mailed to the winners. Thank you to all who applied!